2021 EMS Leader of the Year: Michael Furrh

2021 EMS Leader of the Year

Michael Furrh (Lavaca County EMS)

Michael Furrh of Lavaca County EMS is the Texas EMS Alliance’s 2021 EMS Leader of the Year.

In both of his past two leadership roles – Colorado County EMS and Lavaca County EMS – Michael created positive changes for every aspect of the organizations, including clinical and business operations. In addition, Michael worked to ensure that his EMS agencies have a pivotal role in their communities. Social media and grassroots efforts are just some of the ways that his EMS agencies engage their communities.

Michael’s EMS work does not stop with his work within agencies. He played a vital role in the 2021 Texas Legislature to ensure that EMS agencies can still get paid for their services through his testimony. In addition, Michael is advancing EMS in Texas due to his efforts through leading the Texas EMS Alliance’s annual conference, EMS EVOLUTION. He created an emerging leaders course to ensure that our future EMS leaders have an important avenue of training.

In addition to his EMS work, Michael also engages in his community. He is a city council member for the City of Shiner and the assistant fire chief of the Shiner Volunteer Fire Department.

Michael took his emergency medical technician class in 2002 and went on to earn his firefighter and fire protection certifications at the Wharton County Junior College, and his EMT and paramedic certifications at the Victoria College.

Since the early 2000s, Furrh has worked for EMS agencies throughout the region, stretching from Lavaca County to Matagorda County, and advocated for rural EMS in Texas by teaching classes on rural EMS recruitment and retention.

Prior to his current role in leading Lavaca County EMS, Michael led Colorado County EMS.