TEMSA’s 2021 Awards

To nominate an individual or agency for any of the following awards, write a few paragraphs as to why your nominee is worth of the award. Submit your nomination to Bobby@txemsa.com.

Friday, June 25 – Deadline to submit candidates.

Wednesday, July 7 – Awardees will be notified.

Wednesday, August 11 – Awards will be presented at EMS EVOLUTION 2021’s lunch.

EMS Professional of the Year

The EMS Professional of the Year will be an individual who is a front-line paramedic or EMT who exemplifies the key qualities of EMS professionals in Texas, such as outstanding care, compassion, clinical excellence and a commitment to the community.

Nominees may include a medic who has earned recognition for a particularly meritorious event or an individual who simply represents the best of EMS in Texas every day. Nominees will be accepted from colleagues, supervisors or individuals who are outside of the nominee’s agency.

EMS Agency of the Year

The EMS Agency of the Year will be presented to an agency that has demonstrated a profound commitment to its community and patients. The agency not only excels in its everyday operation of responding to 911 calls and facility transports, but it also finds new and innovative ways to bring value to the community.

Agencies may nominate themselves. Nominations will also be accepted from outside the agency.

EMS Leader of the Year

The EMS Leader of the Year will be awarded to an EMS manager, director or senior leader who has made a tremendous impact on both their own agency and the Texas EMS community over the past year.  The awardee will be presented to an individual who raises the bar for professionalism, service and clinical excellence for our industry, while contributing to improving the delivery of EMS across the state.  Nominations may come from within the nominee’s own agency or from outside the agency.

Horizon Award

The Horizon Award will recognize a new or up and coming leader who has demonstrated exceptional talent for leadership, a commitment to improving the quality of EMS for the patient and community and an enthusiasm for learning and mastering the unique art of managing an EMS system or agency.  The nominee may be a new senior leader or a supervisor-level leader in an EMS organization. 

Nominations should clearly identify any involvement the nominee has in efforts to improve EMS outside of the nominee’s own agency, such as contributions to regional or state-wide efforts or organizations.

President’s Award

The President’s Award will recognize an individual who has made a tremendous contribution to furthering the EMS industry in Texas.  Nominees should be those who have, throughout their careers, pursued a standard of excellence in the delivery of EMS, facilitated innovative EMS concepts and advocated for the industry in order to provide a better service for our patients and communities and a better work environment for our EMS professionals.