Texas Exempt from Medicare’s Latest Ambulance Moratorium

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) extended the moratorium on the new enrollment of non-emergency ambulance services in Pennsylvania and New Jersey for another six months in a July 30 announcement (applicable July 29, 2018). However, Texas was not included in the announcement for ambulance services.

The following is a timeline that explains why Texas was not included in the latest moratorium, per CMS:

  • “Then, we further extended these moratoria in documents issued on August 1, 2014 (79 FR 44702), February 2, 2015 (80 FR 5551), July 28, 2015 (80 FR 44967), and February 2, 2016 (81 FR 5444). On August 3, 2016 (81 FR 51120), we extended the current moratoria for an additional 6 months and expanded them to statewide for the enrollment of new HHAs in Florida, Illinois, Michigan, and Texas, and Part B non-emergency ambulance suppliers in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Texas.”
  • “Our August 3, 2016 publication also announced the lifting of temporary moratoria for all Part B emergency ambulance suppliers.3 On January 9, 2017 (82 FR 2363) and July 28, 2017 (82 FR 35122), CMS again issued a document to extend the temporary moratoria for a period of 6 months.”
  • As a result of Hurricane Harvey: “On September 1, 2017, CMS lifted the statewide temporary moratorium on the enrollment of new Medicare Part B non-emergency ground ambulance suppliers in Texas under the authority of § 424.570(d).”

Texas remained exempt when CMS announced an extension of the moratorium on January 30, 2018 (83 FR 4147) for an additional six months.

The following is a summary of CMS’s July 30, 2018 announcement:

III. Summary of the Moratoria Locations

CMS is executing its authority under sections 1866(j)(7), 1902(kk)(4), and 2107(e)(1)(D) of the Act to extend and implement temporary enrollment moratoria on HHAs for all counties in Florida, Illinois, Michigan, and Texas, as well as Part B non-emergency ground ambulance providers and suppliers for all counties in New Jersey and Pennsylvania.