Texas House Passes EMS Assistance Program Bill

The Texas House of Representatives passed the Texas EMS Assistance Program bill on May 3. HB 1407, which is sponsored by Rep. JD Sheffield (R-Gatesville), would preserve local project grants (LPGs) and create a distance-learning training program for rural paramedics.

Other bill authors include Reps. Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), Diego Bernal (D-San Antonio), and Drew Darby (R-San Angelo).  C0-authors include Reps. Bobby Guerra (D-McAllen) and Drew Springer (R-Muenster).

Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) is the sponsor of the Senate companion, SB 1471.